SwimMark is Swim England’s quality standard for clubs. It recognises high standards of governance, sustainability and effectiveness.SwimMark

Any affiliated Swim England club can apply for the accreditation, regardless of the size of membership or the disciplines delivered.

What is SwimMark about?

  • Creating a quality environment for the development of all club members
  • Supporting clubs for future sustainability
  • Raising the standards of governance within clubs
  • Providing opportunities to develop the club workforce
  • Recognising great quality clubs in line with Sport England’s Clubmark accreditation

There are three different SwimMark accreditations that a club can work towards:

1. SwimMark Essential Club

The Essential Club accreditation is designed to be used as a development and audit tool. There are 16 elements to complete, helping clubs to focus on achieving good governance, sustainability, growing membership and developing volunteers. The accreditation lasts for two years with a mini ‘health-check’ after 12 months.

Once accredited, a club will automatically be awarded Sport England’s Clubmark accreditation, recognising they also meet the required standards of Sport England’s Code of Governance.

2. SwimMark Network

SwimMark Network encourages clubs to work collaboratively across a localised area. This approach helps athletes to maximise their potential, encourages retention in the sport, increases volunteer opportunities and helps to raise the standards of teaching and coaching. The Network accreditation lasts for two years and consists of three elements: a Development Plan, Training Needs Analysis and a signed Terms of Reference.

A club must have achieved the SwimMark Essential Club accreditation to become a SwimMark Network Member.

3. SwimMark Performance

The Performance accreditation provides a benchmark for clubs who are coaching and developing performance athletes within Diving, Swimming, Synchronised Swimming or Water Polo.

Clubs need to demonstrate that athlete pathways, the physical environment, quality coaching practices and support services are all in place for athletes to reach and maintain performance standards. Performance standards are measured by England Programmes.

There are a varying number of elements to complete which are dependent on the discipline. Once achieved the accreditation will last for two years.

A club must have achieved SwimMark Essential Club accreditation and be actively engaged with a SwimMark Network to maintain their Performance accreditation.

Find out more information on SwimMark accreditation

To find out more information about SwimMark accreditation please visit: swimming.org/swimengland/managing-your-club/ or email clubdevelopment@swimming.org

swim21 became SwimMark on 13 June 2017.